

To: Members of the Communities

Scrutiny Committee

Date: 1 February 2016

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: dcc_admin@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the **COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE** to be held at **9.30 am** on **THURSDAY**, **4 FEBRUARY 2016** in **CONFERENCE ROOM 1A**, **COUNTY HALL**, **RUTHIN**.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 MINUTES (Pages 5 - 14)

To receive the minutes of the Communities Scrutiny Committee held on the 17th December, 2015 (copy enclosed).

9:35am - 9:40am

5 WELL-BEING OF FUTURE GENERATIONS (WALES) ACT 2015 (Pages 15 - 36)

To consider the implications of the Well-being of Future Generations (Wales) Act 2015 on the Council, on Denbighshire's communities and on scrutiny (briefing paper and Essentials guide enclosed).

This business item will be in the form of a workshop:

- (i) The Well-being of Future Generations (Wales) Act 2015 update and timetable:
- (ii) What will the Act mean for our communities?
- (iii) How might the Act change the sort of questions we ask in Scrutiny?
- (iv) Discussion on the implications of the Act for Scrutiny in Denbighshire

9:40am - 11:15am

6 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 37 - 52)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy enclosed) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

11:15am - 11:30am

7 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups.

11:30am - 11:40am

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Councillor Huw Hilditch-Roberts

(Chair)

Councillor Rhys Hughes (Vice-Chair)

Brian Blakeley
Bill Cowie
Anton Sampson
Peter Evans
Cefyn Williams
Martyn Holland
Cheryl Williams
Win Mullen-James

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils